Gowns by….

Have you ever sat and watched the credits at the end of a movie and the title Gowns By? Granted you would have to (A) be watching a classic film as they now say costume design by and (B) actually pay attention to the credits.

What I love about these classic films, besides the fact that they are wildly entertaining, have superb acting is the gowns. The clothes, the costumes call it what you may. I love them.

Perhaps you’ve seen the name Adrian as in Gowns by – Adrian.  He worked with actresses such as Katherine Hepburn, Greta Garbo and Joan Crawford. Have you seen the film The Women not this one, but this one. Just look at Joan Crawford’s outfits. I especially love the midriff dress, midriffs by the way are back in style!

PicMonkey Collage

Then there is the legendary Edith Head. I’m sure you’ve seen the gowns she’s put on the silver screen. She has won 8 Academy Awards for best costume design. Some of my favorites of hers are the Barbara Stanwyck’s costumes in The Lady Eve. Grace Kelley’s clothing in To Catch a Thief. Talk about gorgeous.

PicMonkey Collage2

And then there was Travilla. Ah Travilla otherwise known as Marilyn Monroe’s costume designer. I just adore his work. Think about the show stopping gowns in How to marry a millionaire, which we all know I love! I could go on and on about Mr. Travilla.

PicMonkey Collage3

So what films has your favorite gowns? I’d love to know. I will also be buying these coffee table books. How chic! Gowns by Adrian : The MGM Years 1928-1941, Edith Head: The Fifty-Year Career of Hollywood’s Greatest Costume Designer,  and Dressing Marilyn: How a Hollywood Icon Was Styled by William Travilla

Till next time!

2 thoughts on “Gowns by….

  1. Hi,

    Love this post and all the photos. Not sure if you know but I have a hobby and that is making vintage style art deco dolls in their full glamour. I just love the costumes from the old classic movies and try to style the outfits I make for my dolls based on them. At present I am working on a Jean Harlow one and already have her head, platinum blonde wig and makeup done. Her clothes will be silver and white satin with plenty of feathers and diamante. I have made a good few Downton Abbey girls too and then went way out and did an Anne Boleyn.

    I love the old movies for their costumes and often get distracted by them and not the story-line. They are wonderful works of art with such intricate detail. I live in County Kildare, Ireland and close to me, in the town of Newbridge is Newbridge Silverware. The owner’s started collecting memorabilia from the famous movie and music stars of the past and they now have an amazing collection of costumes that were used in movies by some of the greats Bette Davis, Marilyn Monroe, Audrey Hepburn (her lovely pink cocktail dress from Breakfast at Tiffanys), Tippi Hedron (that green suit she wore in The Birds), Liz Taylor and the list goes on. They even have outfits from the Beatles, Bob Dylan, Michael Jackson etc and the pre sample that was created for Princess Diana’s Wedding Dress. I visit there often to get ideas for my costumes and admission is free. They regularly lend out collections to museums around the world and in return we get to see some visiting collections. They have heaps of letters and other collectible items. Great day out.

    Here is the link if you want to get an idea of what I am talking about.

    http://www.newbridgesilverware.com/visit_us/museum

    If I had my time over again, there are many things I would do but one that really shines for me is the desire to have studied period costume design and proper tailoring.

    Great post,

    Vivien

    • Wow Vivien,
      Thank you for sharing the site. How lucky you are to have that there. Of course I love the Jayne Mansfield and the Audrey Hepburn ones! You have to share pictures of your dolls I would love to see your collection. What a great hobby!

Leave a Reply

