Show Business Heartbreaks

After reading this interview by Alec Baldwin, I felt inspired to see the documentary in question, Seduced and Abandoned.  I’ve been thinking about my a career of choice lately and I do agree the movie business is pretty hard. You have to be tough as steel to make it. It’s a very competitive business and if it’s not your passion and you don’t find it thrilling then I think it will be very difficult for you to do it, because it’s so tough.

Tough in the sense that you’re going to have your heartbroken over and over again. You may kill yourself to get a role you’d probably be great at and you may not even be able to get in on the audition. Or you may go to Seduced-and-Abandoned-Poster-600x449network over and over again and not book the job.  You may spend years in acting class honing your skill and not book anything. It’s a business of highs and lows. I remember my second year in Los Angeles I had a talk with myself about whether or not I was really going to commit my life to this career.  I knew the road ahead was not guaranteed and would be unpredictable and filled with heartache, but also filled with great joy and excitement and passion. So I chose to forge on, and I do not regret it at all.

When I look at these actors who have had such great success’ and I hear the agony over their careers I get it.   We’re artists and we are made to create, but its the little pesky things like money and business that gets in the way.

But you know what, I wouldn’t have it any other way. I love what I do, and I’ll keep working to get to the level of success that I want.

The documentary is on HBO and is worth watching. Its great juicy behind the scenes cut throat action. As an actress I know saw how they look at us when we’re auditioning. The part regarding Neve Campbell’s bank ability was interesting as well. But I also enjoyed Bérénice Bejo‘s take.

I think Alec Baldwin was right, in this business we must be a bit selfish, but also tough as nails I think.

One thought on “Show Business Heartbreaks

Leave a Reply

