Thoughts on a Monday Morning

What will your legacy be? Hmmm that was the question that popped into my mind as I thought of what I wanted to write about today. Perhaps it’s not a question but rather the answer.  I like to start my week with an intention in mind, something to work towards. And as I’m sitting here beginning my week I asked myself what do I want to accomplish this week? What do I want to say in this blog? And the answer was; what is the effect you want to cause? What is it you want to give to your readers?

Here’s my answer. I want anyone reading this  blog to figure out what is they want to leave with each person they encounter. What do you want your effect to be?  Figure that out and then create it!  If you don’t know this about me I have a reputation of being “icy”.  I’ve heard this from my acting teacher, psychics, and random passersby.

Over the weekend I had an incident at a friends play opening.   One of the guys, a scene partner of mine said I was “moody” and he tests whether or not to engage me in conversation based upon the way I say hello. He told me, he would say hi to me and depending on how I responded he knew how to proceed.  I found that rather illuminating.

I then came up with the bright idea of asking the other men in class their opinion (not a good idea if you have thin skin, but i don’t). It was a resounding yes you’re moody, stand offish, intimidating, non-approachable.  I think you get the drift.  In general they liked me and they found my moodiness funny. That’s one of the things I love about my acting class. We are  a real community so nothing is hidden and the truth is often revealed before all, and I love that.

So after that eye opening discussion I’ve decided that I don’t want to be described as moody. There are a lot of other adjectives I’d prefer like vivacious, exciting, sassy, smart, brave, titillating….. etc.  So this is what I’ll be working  on this week and forever more probably.  So that when I encounter anyone the essence I leave behind will be a little bit warmer to the touch, rather than the icy cool I’m known for!

What essence of you will you leave behind?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Image via:vintagecoolillustrated

 

3 thoughts on “Thoughts on a Monday Morning

    • You I’ve never really been one to think about what others think of me. Because I pretty much honestly say how I feel I assume everyone does as well….though I found that’s not the case 🙂

Leave a Reply

