Inside an actor’s mind

I just watched Al Pacino in Looking For Richard for the first time. Can I just say brilliant. Any actor, every actor should see this. My acting coach often mentioned seeing this film and I never got around to it, until now.

O.k so if you’re not an actor you may find this a wee bit boring, but hear me out. This has completely changed how I approach my work. First of all Al spent three years making this film about working on the character Richard III. He had already done the play before and had decided he wanted to do a film version. So in typical Pacino form he begins researching his character (that he has played before) for umm three years! WHAT who does that, Al.

File:Looking for richard.jpg

But if you believe in the saying how you do one thing is how you do everything, then I’m sure you’ll find some use for this. How many people are that passionate about their life’s work, that they would spend three years on just research alone.  Not making any money whatsoever, in fact losing money.

This is why I love being an artist. You know I’ve never met an IRS agent who got excited about the new tax laws coming out, ooh! Nope never heard that. By the way if you are an accountant or IRS agent and are that passionate about taxes please let me know 😉

So that’s just one aspect. Then you get to look behind the scenes of some of the most brilliant actors, Kevin Spacey, Alec Baldwin, Aidan Quinn, Estelle Parsons. What a treat, really.  As an actor how tasty is that! We see how they work, how they think. We see them clash and fight for their opinions, its just a brilliant piece of art. What a treat from Mr. Pacino.

If you’ve ever been curious about acting as an art form, or if as a lay person you’ve ever seen a film in the theater and went, I can’t believe that performance how did they do that. Then you should treat yourself to this film.

There is so much more I can say, but I’ll just stop at go rent Looking For Richard!

 

Leave a Reply

